Northwest Hills Council of Governments (NHCOG)

Northwest Connecticut’s Regional Planning Organization

The NHCOG is a coordinating body for chief elected officials maintained by twenty-one municipalities in northwest Connecticut. The twenty-one members are Barkhamsted, Burlington, Canaan, Colebrook, Cornwall, Goshen, Hartland, Harwinton, Kent, Litchfield, Morris, New Hartford, Norfolk, North Canaan, Roxbury, Salisbury, Sharon, Torrington, Warren, Washington, and Winchester.


NHCOG’s mission is to make Northwest Connecticut a better place to live, do business, and visit by providing a forum for local officials to discuss issues of intermunicipal concern, promote regional cooperation, and direct various regional initiatives to enhance government planning, efficiency and service delivery.

NHCOG began its work January 1, 2014. It is a consolidation of two former regional planning organizations- the Litchfield Hills Council of Elected Officials and the Northwestern Connecticut Council of Governments.  The COG prepares a regional transportation plan, a regional growth plan and is also involved in planning for housing, economic developmentemergency management and natural hazard mitigation.


Robert A. Phillips, AICP

Executive Director

Emily Hultquist, AICP

Assistant Director

Kathryn Faraci,

Senior Regional Planner

Sarah Better

Financial/Office Manager

Leonardo Ghio, MBA Project Director, Northwest Hills Community Health Network of CTLeonardo Ghio, MBA

Project Director